From Friday 20th March to Saturday 18th April, Solomon Fine Art, in conjunction with the Design & Crafts Council of Ireland (DCCoI), Irish Design 2015 (ID2015) and The Doyle Collection, are pleased to host an exhibition of Glass by Ireland’s most renowned artists and makers.

Portfolio: Glass will be held in the stunning new 60m2 gallery space, located at the main entrance to The Westbury Hotel and Westbury Mall on Balfe Street, just a few steps from Solomon Fine Art’s existing gallery and a stone’s throw from Grafton Street.

Portfolio: Glass will present over 60 innovative artworks by fifteen highly regarded glass artists, working in a centuries-old continuum. Featured artists include Róisín de Buitlear, Paula Stokes, Peadar Lamb, Alison Lowry, Killian Schurmann and Peter Young, as well as a selection of new works by Karl Harron and Edmond Byrne, both of whom have the distinction of being selected for this year’s prestigious Portfolio ‘Critical Selection’ publication. Solomon Fine Art is looking forward to exhibiting wall pieces inlaid with gold leaf, sand, resin and inks, acid-etched, engraved and coloured glass, polished lightreflecting vessels, pendants with inlay and sea green cast crystal sculpture. These talented makers, through the medium of glass, bring the intangible and invisible gloriously to life.

Portfolio: Glass is part of a twelve month schedule of exhibitions in the new Solomon space which aims to showcase the DCCoI’s Portfolio programme of over 100 of Ireland’s most renowned designers and makers in the following disciplines: Ceramics, Glass, Jewellery, Metals, Paper, Textiles, Calligraphy, Furniture, Woodturning and Basketry. All artworks on display in Portfolio @ Solomon will be available to purchase, providing visitors and collectors with a unique opportunity to acquire one-off or limited edition pieces from internationally collected and emerging practitioners working to the highest standards of design, quality and technical skill.

Participating artists: Scott Benefield, Emma Bourke, Edmond Byrne, Sean Campbell, Debbie Dawson, Roisin De Buitlear, Karen Donnellan, Alva Gallagher, Karl Harron, Catherine Keenan, Peadar Lamb, Alison Lowry, Caroline Madden, Michael Ray, Louise Rice, Killian Schurmann, Andrea Spencer, Paula Stokes, Eva Walsh, Catherine Wilcoxson / Danuna Glass and Peter Young.