In the autumn of 2019, the Preis der Nationalgalerie will be awarded for the tenth time. It promotes important positions of contemporary art that have gained significance through new artistic approaches and that reflect the liveliness and international scope of the art scene in Germany.

Every two years, four artists under forty years of age who live and work in Germany are nominated for the award and presented in a shortlist exhibition. From among the 70 nominations, the international jury has chosen the following artists: Pauline Curnier Jardin (born 1980 in Marseille, lives in Berlin) Simon Fujiwara (born 1982 in London, lives in Berlin) Flaka Haliti (born 1982 in Prishtina, lives in Munich) Katja Novitskova (born 1984 in Tallinn, lives in Amsterdam and Berlin)

The winner is selected by a panel of experts and the following year is granted a large solo show in one of the venues of the Nationalgalerie. In addition, a catalogue is published at the occasion of the exhibition.

Previous winners have included Agnieszka Polska (2017), Anne Imhof (2015), Mariana Castillo Deball (2013), Cyprien Gaillard (2011), Omer Fast (2009), Ceal Floyer (2007), Monica Bonvicini (2005), Elmgreen & Dragset (2002) and Dirk Skreber (2000).

In conjunction with the Preis der Nationalgalerie, the joint award for film art has been awarded since 2011 in cooperation with the Deutsche Filmakademie. This award is aimed at young filmmakers who, with their experimental films, move along the boundary of art.

The exhibition is made possible by the Freunde der Nationalgalerie and is supported by BMW.